The NBT Music Columns : The Huge Small Thoughts Of Lauren Fincham

laurenfinchamamelia3_resized.jpg(The First of many mini missives from a very thoughtful provocative artist…).My friend Carol Statella asked what is it about Elvis Presley that I feel influences my singing. Because clearly, I sound nothing like himWell initially I said it was his breathing and timing. And of course that is phenomenal. But I’ve since thought about that response and think that a truer statement would be his ability to BE the song. And that led me to wonder, well why do I want to BE the song? Transcendence –Isn’t that what everyone on the planet strives for? Love, religion, sex, alcohol, drugs?  Music gives me that. And that is so much richer to me than anything.

Leave a Reply

