The CyberPR (Ariel Publicity)New Media Pioneer Interviews 3

New Media Pioneer: Jimmy Tucker of Indie Radio Chattanooga

 

http://www.indieradiochattanooga.com

http://www.myspace.com/indieradiochattanooga

 

Indie Radio Chattanooga s a weekly podcast and FM Radio Show dedicated to the Independent Artist. We try to feature new artists every week, and we interview a different artist every show. We host the live show Saturdays at 10:pm EST.

 

Preshow starts at 9:00 EST and can be seen here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/indieradiochattanooga

 

Q: How long have you been broadcasting?

A: I have been Broadcasting since May of 2007,I got picked up on FM Radio in May of 2008

Q: In your opinion, what does a good song need to consist of?

 

A: A good song needs to consist of artist integrity, heart and determination. If the artist doesn’t believe in what he/she is doing, it will quickly be apparent…oh yeah and a kick ass guitar solo.I recently had the privilege of interviewing Last November. Their lyrics are smart and witty, all put together in a sea of innuendo and double entendre. Luke, the lead singer, said that he doesn’t go with the first draft, he like many others, work the songs to maturity before they are ready. I think this is what makes a band stand out and pushes them to that next level.

 

Q: What is your favorite band or favorite genre of music and why?

 

My favorite genre is metal, and I guess my favorite band/Artist is Ozzy Osbourne. Why? I guess it’s a combination of smart lyrics and wicked guitar solos.

 

Q: What changes in content laws, broadcasting rights, etc. have affected you most?

 

No law changes have affected me really, As long as I have the artist(s) permission. I have yet to be threatened by a band because I helped promote them.

 

Q: A recent study found blogs to be more effective than MySpace in generating album sales, do you feel podcasts has the same power?

 

A: Yes as a matter of fact, I do believe podcasts help spur album sales, significantly. Listeners are starving for new music to listen to, not crammed down their throats by the main stream. With the internet, more and more music is readily available, and podcasters are the vehicle that make all that music make sense. We put it into a “playlist” and put a little context to it so that the listener can digest it more effectively. If it is an artist I like, chances are the listener will like it too, since they listen to my show.

 

Leave a Reply

